Ivy Gleeful Spellthief Rulings

In Magic: The Gathering, some cards introduce complex interactions that often require deeper understanding and clarification through rulings. One such card isIvy, Gleeful Spellthief, a legendary creature from the setDominaria United. With an ability that allows it to copy spells targeting other creatures you control, Ivy has quickly become a favorite in Commander decks focused on spellslinger or heroic strategies. However, its unique trigger has prompted a variety of questions regarding how and when it functions. This topic provides a detailed overview of Ivy’s abilities, examines official and unofficial rulings, and explores how to make the most of this dynamic card in gameplay.

Understanding Ivy, Gleeful Spellthief

Card Text and Core Ability

Ivy, Gleeful Spellthief is a 2-mana Simic creature (green and blue) with the following text:

Flying. Whenever a player casts a spell that targets only a single creature other than Ivy, Gleeful Spellthief, you may copy that spell. The copy targets Ivy.

This means that if any player yourself or an opponent casts a spell targeting one of your other creatures, you can create a copy of that spell with Ivy as the new target. This makes Ivy a powerful synergy piece in decks loaded with aura spells, pump spells, or other beneficial single-target spells.

Color Identity and Commander Use

Because Ivy’s mana cost and color identity are blue and green, she can only be used in decks that include these two colors in formats like Commander. Her low mana cost and evasive body make her a consistent early-game play and a threat if left unchecked.

Key Rulings Explained

What Does ‘Only a Single Creature’ Mean?

The spell must target exactly one creature, and that creature must not be Ivy. This means that the spell cannot have multiple targets, even if one is Ivy and one is another creature. Also, Ivy cannot be the original target. If either of those conditions is not met, Ivy’s ability won’t trigger.

  • Valid: You castGiant Growthtargeting your other creature. Ivy triggers and gets a copy targeting her.
  • Invalid: You castDefiant Striketargeting Ivy. Ivy will not trigger because she was the original target.
  • Invalid: You castReckless Chargetargeting two creatures. Ivy won’t trigger because there are multiple targets.

Who Controls the Copy?

You always control the copy of the spell, even if another player cast the original. This can lead to some interesting politics and gameplay dynamics in multiplayer formats like Commander, especially if opponents cast buff spells or enchantments targeting your other creatures.

Does Ivy Copy All Aspects of the Spell?

Yes, the copy is just like the original spell. If it had additional costs or effects, they are copied unless they involve a choice made on casting. You choose new targets where applicable, and if the spell requires a target, you must assign Ivy as the new one. Any ‘as this spell is cast’ decisions are not copied.

Interactions with Specific Card Types

Instants and Sorceries

Instants and sorceries are the most straightforward with Ivy. As long as they target only one other creature, Ivy will trigger and copy the spell targeting herself. This includes:

  • Expedite– You draw a card for each copy.
  • Scale Up– Ivy becomes a 6/4 creature for the turn.
  • Titan’s Strength– Ivy gets a power boost and scry 1.

All these spells offer bonus effects that can stack rapidly with Ivy in play.

Auras

When you cast an Aura that targets only a single creature you control (other than Ivy), Ivy can copy the Aura, and it enters the battlefield attached to her. However, this only works for Auras that target as part of casting. Auras with ‘Enchant Creature’ but no targeting on cast, such as those entering via Replenish, do not trigger Ivy.

Mutate Spells

Mutate spells are not cast targeting a creature; they are cast with a specific mechanic, and thus Ivy does not trigger on mutate. This is an important distinction and one that often confuses players.

Spells with Modal Choices

Spells with modal choices (e.g., choose one or more) are copied with the same choices as the original. You cannot change modes for the copy. For example, if you cast a spell choosing ‘Deal 3 damage to target creature,’ the copied spell will also choose that mode, not a different one.

Synergies and Strategy Tips

Deckbuilding Ideas

Ivy thrives in a spellslinger or heroic-style deck filled with one-target spells. The following cards are often great inclusions:

  • Cantrips: Slip Through Space,Twisted Image,Opt
  • Pump Spells: Groundswell,Invigorate,Mutagenic Growth
  • Auras: Eland Umbra,Curiosity,Rancor

You can stack up buffs and card draw at an explosive pace. The fact that Ivy’s ability is passive and doesn’t require mana makes her an efficient engine for value generation.

Protecting Ivy

Because Ivy can quickly become a priority threat, it’s important to include protection. Hexproof auras likeSnake Umbra, or counterspells likeSpell Piercehelp keep her alive. Ivy also benefits from low mana protection spells likeSlip Out the BackorMarch of Swirling Mist.

Interaction with Opponents’ Spells

Since Ivy triggers on any player’s spell targeting your creatures, opponents casting buffs or debuffs on your other creatures can cause Ivy to copy them sometimes to your advantage or detriment. Be cautious of targeted removal being copied. For example:

  • Helpful Spell: Opponent castsBlossoming Defenseon your creature. Ivy copies and gains hexproof too.
  • Harmful Spell: Opponent castsLightning Bolttargeting your creature. Ivy will copy it and may take 3 damage unless you decline the trigger.

Thankfully, Ivy’s ability is optional. You may choose not to copy a spell if it would harm her.

Common Misunderstandings

Can Ivy Copy Spells Targeting Herself?

No. If the spell targets Ivy directly, her ability will not trigger. It must target another creature you control, and only that one creature.

What If the Spell Has Multiple Targets?

If the spell targets more than one creature even if Ivy is not one of them her ability does not trigger. The spell must exclusively target a single creature other than Ivy.

Does Ivy Work With Abilities?

No. Ivy’s ability only triggers onspells, not activated or triggered abilities. Abilities from equipment, creatures, or enchantments do not count.

Ivy, Gleeful Spellthief is a deceptively powerful card that opens up exciting new strategies, especially in Commander formats. Her ability to passively generate spell copies can snowball rapidly if left unchecked, making her both a value engine and a potential win condition. Understanding how her rulings work allows players to maximize her impact while avoiding common mistakes. Whether you’re building around Ivy or facing her across the table, a clear understanding of her interactions is key to leveraging or countering her unique gluttony for spells.